A panel detailing Dr Denis Moore’s commitment to Parade College as its longest-serving Principal now hangs from the Old Paradians’ Association’s Hall of Fame wall at Bundoora.

The panel, a replica of which will also shortly hang from the Penola Foyer wall at the Preston campus, joins an impressive array of 15 panels – one for each of the remaining Hall of Famers - to grace the wall of the Hickey Foyer.

Dr Moore, a final year student of Parade in 1967, was inducted into the Hall last December, as part of what was a glorious farewell assembly acknowledging his 25 years at the helm – on the same day the Bundoora Campus’ College Hall was renamed Moore Hall in his honour.

On that occasion, Old Paradians’ Association President Dr Paul Shannon (1985) presented Dr Moore with a glass memento acknowledging his induction.

Dr Moore’s Hall of Fame panel reads as follows:

Born in Sunshine and schooled at the ‘Old Bluestone Pile’, Br Denis Moore dedicated his life to education – most significantly as the longest-serving Principal in Parade College history (1995-2019) and the last of the Christian Brothers to officiate in that capacity.

The Parade College we see today, across both the Bundoora and Preston sites, is testimony to Br Denis’ vision. His great joy was to see more than 6000 young men pass through the College gates in pursuit of their careers.

For those fortunate to have encountered Br Denis in any capacity, his model of faith and spirituality, quiet demeanour, experience, wisdom, perceptiveness and wry sense of humour are a ready reminder that the focus of his life – the education of young men within an educational setting imbued by Gospel Spirituality and the charism of Blessed Edmund Rice – was sufficient inspiration for a life of service.

It has been said of Br Denis that Catholic education in the Edmund rice tradition has not had a more faithful son.

The Association committee saw fit to establish an Old Paradians Hall of Fame back in 2010. The committee’s rationale was that a Hall of Fame would help perpetuate the memory of the people who brought honour to Parade College and who by their contributions to society serve as authentic role models for present and future generations of the Parade community.

Inductees to the Hall are Louis Arthur, Gen. John Baker, Sir Bernard Callinan, ‘Mick’ Cocks, Sir John Collins, Lt. Col. Charles Denehy, Mr. Leo Doyle, Bill Dunne, The Most. Rev. Arthur Fox, Ivan Hutchinson, ‘Jock’ McHale, Dr. Denis Moore, Mr. Justice Sir Norman O’Bryan, Michael Pratt GC, Capt. Prof. Kevin Rickard AM and the late John Wegner AO.