The Old Paradians’ Association’s Annual Golf Day has been pencilled in for Monday, November 27, with Latrobe Golf Club in leafy Alphington the sublime venue.

The event is in its 20th year, Glenroy’s Northern Golf Club having provided the backdrop for the inaugural Golf Day back in November 1997 - and to celebrate the 20th anniversary and to more fully accommodate the requirements of Old Paradians golfers, the Golf Day has been extended to include a nine-hole event. Accordingly, the cost of the day for those who play in the will be a lesser amount; starting time is a more agreeable 9.30 am and nearest the pin will apply. The later starting time will still allow for a 12.00/12.30pm finish in time for a refresher before lunch.

Glenroy’s Northern Golf Club provided the backdrop for the inaugural Golf Day back in November 1997. On that occasion 31 players teed off – Br. Adams, Chris Augustinus, Bill Barry, Ian Bibby, Ron Boyle, Pat Byrnes, Tony Cashmore, Jim Dempsey, Kevin Downey, Ian Dunne, Robert Gilbert, Frank Heasly, Frank Hurley, Brian Quirk, Dan Lane, Tony Manarin, Gary Mansfield, Len Mansfield, Michael McKinley, John Mount, Noel Purcell, Adrian Rossi, Kevin Shepheard, Bill Sullivan, Denis Toner, Tony Vitez, Laurie Wakeling, John Walker and Peter Walker.

For the record, Ron Boyle took out the coveted Peter Walker Trophy with 41 points, with Tony Cashmore the runner-up on 40. Ron, Tony, Frank Hurley and John Mount were adjudged best team. Old Paradians and non-Old Paradians alike are welcome to participate in the 2017 Golf Day, so feel free to spread the word.

Teas/coffees will be available at Latrobe Golf Club from 7.00am on game day, with check-in and allocation commencing around the same time. Shotgun commences at 7.45 am with a Luncheon to be served in the Club Dining Room at 1.00 pm. Those not wanting to play but interested in joining the Luncheon (cost is $40) are welcome to do so and those with dietary requirements are urged to advise John.

Those wishing to participate in this year’s Golf Day are urged to register by November 10 at the latest by contacting John Hodder – or via snail mail, 109/108 Denham Street, Hawthorn, 3122. Players should note that registration will only proceed when full payment is received.

Payment can be made by cheque/money order or by direct debit from your financial institution to John’s bank account. If you use this latter system please attach evidence of payment/lodgement.

Cheques etc. should be payable to L J HODDER – Commonwealth Bank account 063 157 no 10458258 – Account Name: L. J. Hodder (and please include your name on the Direct Debit notice).

Competitors will this year be vying for a special trophy, made available by the Arthur family.