A big thank you and congratulations to Steve Nailer (1987) and Luke Thomas (1988) for the fantastic organisation of the 2023 Old Paradians Association Gold Day. 

The inaugural Golf day was held in 1997 and Peter Walker (1946), Paul Godfrey (1962) and John Hodder (1960) were the pioneering organisers. We have the Peter J Walker Trophy for the best individual performance and the Lou Arthur Memorial Trophy for the best team aggregate. 

This year's Ambrose event was hosted at Rosanna Golf Club on Friday 10 November with 93 players registered. The day commenced with registration and light refreshments from 11.30 am and then a shotgun start at 1.00 pm. In hot conditions, we saw Old Paradians from the from 1959 through to the early 2000's participate which was due to the efforts of Steve and Luke. From 5.30 pm post-game refreshments took place ahead of presentations. Over 50 guests also attended a dinner at the Club.  Special thanks to Qube Logistics for prizes.

David Page, Branton Delaney, Paul Cocco and Jeremy Salzano were awarded the Lou Arthur Trophy for the best aggregate team score of 54.75. They just edged out Luke Thomas, Craig Fuller, David Stuckey and Paul Digney who scored 55.375, 10 under the card for the day. They were in the clubhouse first insisting that the trophy get engraved at that point as they were of the belief that they couldn’t be beaten with their score. 

Longest drive award went to Matthew Collins whilst ‘nearest the pin’ on the 3rd, 6th, 10th and 18th went to Simon Vincent, Kevin Jenkins, Steve Nailer and Vince La Rosa. Luke Thomas made a presentation to Steve Nailer for the enormous job he did in the organisation of the day.

The day was a tremendous success. The Old Paradians' Association is so very grateful for all that supported the event. Special thanks to Rosanna Golf Club and General Manager Luke Bleumink and Hospitality Supervisor Chelsea Symon for hosting us on the day. They did a magnificent job.

We look forward to the event again in November 2024!