Over the past 12 years, the Old Paradians’ Association has instituted several annual awards designed to honour those who have made outstanding contributions to the cause of the Parade College community or the community at large.

In 2010, the Association founded a Hall of Fame in acknowledgment of those former students who by their contributions to society served and continue to serve as authentic role models for present and future generations of College students. This year, we inducted 6 outstanding old Paradians to the Hall of Fame. Peter Bedford (1963), Michael Drapac (1973), Terry Moran (1966), Wally De Backer (1995), Professor David Kissane (1968) and Peter McKenna (1963).

Four years later, in its Centenary Year of 2014, the Association established an Honorary Old Paradian Award to recognise those men who, whilst not schooled at Parade, have contributed significantly to the cause of the College and/or the Association over a significant period. This year Mike Jolley, Robin Mills and Jim Seymour were inducted as Honorary Old Paradians.

That same year, the OPA founded a Community Service Award in tribute to those Old Paradians’ who have contributed significantly to the welfare of those in need. Recent recipients include Bill Gibbins (1963), Jonathon Ellks (1984) and Alex Fabiani (1976).

It also initiated a Woman of Distinction Award, in recognition of those women who have contributed significantly to the cause of the College and/or the Association over many years. Kaye Nailer was recently honoured with this award posthumously.

The Tenete Award was instituted by the Association in 1974 to mark the 60th anniversary of its existence and renew its pledge to serve Parade College and its students. The Tenete Award acknowledges an individual’s service in the interests of the College. Recent inductees include Bill Schofield, Kevin Johnston and Bob Hanlon. Lewis Derrico (1973), long serving OPA President was recently given this prestigious Award.

The award recipients in each of these categories can be viewed in the Awards section of the OPA website.

The Association also wishes to establish a Young Old Paradian Achievers Award to recognise the achievements of Old Paradians’ that have left the College in more recent times. Additionally, an Old Paradians Association Outstanding Service Award. It was thought this award might capture those individuals that have made a sustained contribution to furthering the objectives of the OPA over an extended period of time.

The recently established Awards Sub-Committee will receive nominations for review and make its recommendations to the OPA Committee for its ratification.

If you know of an Old Paradian or member of the Parade College community worthy of being so honoured, please contact the Old Paradians’ Association at your earliest convenience.

Nominations can be lodged with the Association via email to or by telephone 9468 3301.