To the victor the spoils . . . and so it is that the coveted Peter Walker Trophy goes to Old Paradian Denis Swift (1970), this year’s winner of the Old Paradians’ Association’s Annual Golf Day, held at Alphington’s Latrobe Golf Club.

Denis is pictured here (at right) accepting the trophy from event organiser John Hodder (1960) at the 19th hole. The photograph was captured by Old Paradians’ Association Vice-President Paul Shannon (1985) who lost to Swift with 36 points on a countback.

Not to be denied, Paul and his partners – Ian Dunne (1949), Russell Lewis (1954) and Peter Walker (1946) - took out the prized Lou Arthur Memorial Teams Trophy with some adept work around the greens.

A total of 50 competitors participated in the tournament, including David Jones (1958) and Michael Kelly (1959) who played nine before joining the audience for lunch. According to Paul, the course was in tip top shape, with service in the clubhouse of first class quality.

As for his own form across 18 holes, Paul was in no doubt.

“I’d taken part in the OPs’ Golf Day once before and that was a few years ago now, but the swing was still as sweet as a nut,” he insisted.